Make no mistake about it; Traffic tickets are big business for the State of Washington and throughout the local cities of the Puget Sound. In 2016 alone, there were over 700,000 tickets issued to Washington drivers. These infractions generated over 100 million in revenue, funded straight from the bank accounts of Washington drivers.
Unfortunately, most drivers today consider a traffic infraction to be only a minor issue. The typical response for drivers after being pulled over for a speeding ticket or some other traffic infraction is to simply mail in payment of the fine and move on with your life. Although this is the quickest way to deal with your infraction, most drivers fail to realize the long-term consequences that this decision may have.
Not fighting your ticket could be more costly than you think. For most drivers, the main consequence of paying your ticket is strictly financial. In Washington, moving violations will stay on your driving record for three years. One moving violation on your record will typically raise your rates anywhere from ten to twenty percent. When you stretch this increase out over a three-year period, you could be paying hundreds if not thousands more for car insurance.
For those drivers that have watched too many of the “Fast and Furious” movies, have an intermediate license, or possess a CDL simply paying your ticket could result in a suspension or revocation of your driving privileges.
At Garguile Law, we understand how much time and energy goes into fighting speeding and other traffic infractions, which is why we take care of the whole process for you. As one of the top traffic ticket defense firms in Tacoma, Washington, we help our clients avoid the costly penalties that come with speeding and other traffic tickets. When we successfully fight your case, we give you the peace of mind that comes with keeping insurance rates low and your driving record clean.
By trusting Garguile Law, with your case, you can be assured that the whole process will be taken care of from start to finish. In most circumstances, you don’t even have to go to court to fight your traffic ticket. Let one of Washington’s top traffic ticket defense attorneys take care of the lengthy and confusing process for you. Save your time. Save your money.
Call us today and we will get the process started for you. We have helped over 8,000 clients successfully defend their traffic tickets – and we believe we can do the same for you. While other options, like simply paying your ticket, may be tempting, the long term financial consequences are not worth it! We offer a money back guarantee so really you have nothing to lose! Get in touch with us now and let us do what they do best – fight your traffic ticket.
Get Help Now
Tickets and Teen Driver’s Licenses
I remember the day I got my license. I could finally go to the mall or a friend’s house without relying on my parents to shuttle me around. My license represented freedom, fun, and independence. To my parents, it had to be terrifying.
In the United States, the fatal crash rate per mile driven for 16-19 year-olds is nearly three times the rate for drivers ages 20 and over. The risk is highest at ages 16-17. In fact, the fatal crash rate per mile driven is nearly twice as high for 16-17 year-olds as it is for 18-19 year-olds. Shockingly, in their first year of driving, 1 in 5 16-year-old drivers has an accident.
These scary but true statistics led to the creation of Washington’s graduated licensing system in 2001, known as an Intermediate License. Unfortunately, most teenage drivers and their parents still don’t fully understand what an Intermediate License is.
In Washington State, any licensed driver that is either 16 or 17 years old has an intermediate license. To be eligible for an intermediate license a new driver and their parents must meet certain requirements.
Requirements to get an Intermediate License:
- If you are applying for an intermediate driver’s license in Washington, you must be at least 16 years old to qualify.
- Applicants must have an instruction permit for at least six months, and they must have completed 50 hours of supervised driving practice. 10 of those 50 hours must be completed at night.
- The applicant must not have traffic convictions within six months of applying for the driver’s license and must have no convictions for drugs or alcohol when they had instructions permit.
- The applicant must provide a certificate that confirms the success of the completion of a State of Washington approved traffic safety education course and their Parental Authorization Affidavit when applying for the license.
- Candidates must pass the test of vision, and a driving test.
- Applicants must provide proof of residence and identity as well as give a Social Security number if it is issued.
Once you have your Intermediate License you have certain restrictions:
- You are not allowed to use cell phones or wireless devices whatsoever while driving. Obviously, this means not talking on your cell phone or text messaging.
- In the first six months of the issuance of the intermediate license, passengers under 20 years of age will not be allowed to be in the vehicle except for immediate family members. After the first six months, no more than three passengers under 20 years of age are allowed to be in the vehicle, unless they are immediate family members.
- Teenage drivers with an intermediate license for the first 12 months are restricted from driving during the hours of 1 a.m. – 5 a.m. unless someone in the car is 25 years or older.
Finally, intermediate license holders face strict consequences for violating one of the restrictions above or receiving a moving violation on their driving record:
- If you get one ticket on your record, you will have the teen driver restrictions until you are 18 and a warning letter will be sent to your parents.
- If you get a second ticket or another violation, your license will be suspended for six months (or until you turn 18, whichever comes first). Once again, you and your parents will be notified before this happens.
- Finally, if you receive a third violation, your license will be suspended until you are 18.
As you can see, intermediate license holders face strict consequences for receiving traffic tickets. If you are a teen and you’ve received a traffic ticket, even if it is your first one, it is crucial to speak with an experienced traffic attorney right away.
Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)
For those who have a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL), maintaining a clean driving record means more than avoiding those expensive and annoying fines. It can literally mean avoiding the unemployment line. At Garguile Law, we appreciate how important your CDL is to your livelihood. We understand that this special license is what puts a food on the table and a roof over your head.
We appreciate the amount of time, money and energy that went into you obtaining your Class A, B or C license. We are also aware that when you spend as much time behind the wheel as most commercial drivers do, you’re bound to get a ticket at some point, even if you are a safe driver. But you don’t have to let these infractions jeopardize your employment or commercial driving privileges.
When you’re a professional driver and you receive a traffic infraction in Tacoma, Washington. You need a CDL Attorney that not only understands Washington’s CDL traffic laws, but who also understands the Federal laws and how they work.
At Garguile Law, we possess the necessary knowledge, skill and expertise required to fight your commercial infraction throughout Washington State, but also take care of the subsequent Data Q Challenge. When you contact our office in Tacoma, we can discuss your particular problem, possible options, and then you can make an informed decision before you do anything.
We work with commercial drivers throughout the Puget Sound. Specifically, we serve courts throughout Pierce, King, Kitsap, Snohomish, Thurston and Lewis Counties. The call and consultation are always free and we look forward to protecting your livelihood.
Common CDL Cases we handle in Washington
- All moving and non-moving violations
- Overweight on Axels violations
- Failing to yield at a railroad crossing
- Logbook violations
- Equipment violations
CDL Requirements in Washington State
In 1986, The Federal Government, established uniform standards for testing and licensing of operators of commercial motor vehicles. Washington has adopted those standards and today a CDL is required depending on the vehicles weight, function, and purpose. If you drive any of the following motor vehicles then you need a CDL:
- Trailers that with a manufacture’s weight rating of 10,001 pounds or more.
- Single vehicles with a manufacturer’s weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more
- Buses that are used by schools, regardless of size.
- Any vehicle that can accommodate 16 or more individuals (including the driver).
- Any vehicles that are used for transporting materials which are toxic and dangerous.
Major Moving Violations in Washington State
At Garguile Law, we recommend that professional drivers fight all tickets they receive. CDL holders who have committed a serious driving offense are in danger of their CDL being suspended. Serious driving offenses include:
- Speeding 15 miles per hour or more above the posted limit.
- Reckless driving.
- Any traffic violation, other than parking violations, that results in a fatal accident or collision.
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle without a commercial driver license or without the proper endorsement.
- Negligent driving.
- Following too closely.
- Failing to stop.
- Failing to yield the right of way.
- Driving too fast for conditions.
- Improper lane change or travel.
- Improper overtaking on the right or left.
- Improper driving to the left of center of the roadway.
- Texting while driving a commercial motor vehicle
- Using a cell phone while driving a commercial motor vehicle
Two or more committed findings on any of the above listed infractions within a three year period will result in a suspension of the commercial drivers CDL. A second infraction in a three year period will result in a 60 day suspension. A third infraction will result in a 120 day suspension.
Unfortunately, these infractions count whether the commercial driver receives the infraction in his commercial vehicle or personal vehicle. But the infraction that triggers the suspension must occur in the commercial vehicle otherwise no suspension will occur. However, if the commercial driver is convicted of Reckless Driving it will not matter what type of vehicle the commercial driver was driving.
How to protect your CDL and livelihood
It goes without saying, that the easiest way to maintain your commercial driving privileges is driving safely and taking extra precautions. You need to follow the rules and regulations no matter how late you are. In case you do get into trouble even after taking all the precautions then getting a CDL traffic ticket defense attorney is the best option. Don’t roll the dice on your livelihood.
Contact us for a free no strings attached consultation.
WE'LL CALL YOU IN 10 MINUTES
I will personally call you within 10 minutes to get your side of the story and find a way to get your issue resolved!