What Are The Penalties Associated With DUI Convictions In Washington?
Washington has mandatory minimum jail times for DUI offenses, with a sentencing grid based upon prior offenses within the last seven years.
For a first-offense DUI when the driver-tested over 0.15, or refused a test, the typical jail sentence is 48 consecutive hours, combined with a fine of about $1,200 and a one-year or two-year license revocation. For cases with DUI test results under a 0.15, the mandatory minimum sentence is 24 consecutive hours in jail, plus a $991 fine and a 90-day license suspension.
For a second offense within seven years, in cases where the driver-tested over 0.15 or refused a test, the mandatory minimum jail sentence is 45 days plus a driver’s license revocation of 900 days or three years. For cases with a test result under 0.15, the mandatory minimum jail sentence is 30 days, plus a two-year license revocation.
If the arrested driver had two prior offenses within seven years, the mandatory minimum jail sentence is 90 days plus a three-year license suspension. For cases where the driver either refused a DUI test or tested above 0.15, that mandatory minimum sentence jumps to 120 days in jail plus a fine and license revocation.
Additional prior offenses may lead to felony charges.
For more information on Penalties for DUI Convictions in Washington, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (253) 201-2001 today.
Call Now For A Free Case Evaluation